DIY tegu cage

First of all, let me apologize for the potato quality of these images and the sincere lack of planning behind them. I built this cage almost a year ago and I took the pics to show off to my friends, not for the sake of making an online guide. However, it’s a project that I feel may provide some benefit to anybody with a tegu that needs a bigger home. So, let’s begin:

With the help of my friend, we started building the frame. The cage is supposed to measure 6′ by 3′ by 2′ but since we got the wood cut at Home Depot, there were a few minor inconsistencies. So we laid out the frame alongside the panel board walls to ensure that it would all fit together correctly.

image

Frame was held together by screws, metal, and wood glue for good measure. This was my first real “woodworking” project so I was feeling really proud at this point. Hahaha. Believe it or not, the frame was the hardest part (because I didn’t know how best to use a drill >_>).

image

Frame built and top, bottom, side panels are all added! The panels are laminated to make them waterproof. You can get an 8′ x 4′ sheet at Lowe’s or Home Depot for about $8. It’s waterproof AND lightweight – perfect!

image

I had to build a bedframe tall enough to slide the tegu cage under it. Hoo boy, that was a daunting task. Super simple in the end, but getting onto my bed for that first test sleep was nerve-wracking. Anyway, the mattress support is what you see laying over the cage.

image

Tegu and Batman Converse for scale. My little dude isn’t fully grown yet.

image

Painted two wooden boards and attached them (they will keep the dirt inside the cage even when the doors are open). Painted the window/door frames. Caulked every seam in the cage.

image

Attached the plexiglass window. Broke the plexiglass on the right so I taped over it because I didn’t want to cut more. Painted the inside of the enclosure.

image

Added dirt! (This was an initial setup. My tegu has MUCH more dirt now and every tegu should have enough to burrow in. A burrowing tegu is a happy tegu!).

image

The dinosaur checking it out!

image

Mandatory tegu tax because he’s so cute!

image

