DIY feather necklace

I love jewelry (and so do my birds!). When I posted a picture of one of my feather necklaces on Instagram, a friend suggested that I make a tutorial for it. So here we go! 🙂

These are the supplies that you’ll need:

  1. Needle nose pliers
  2. Necklace chain
  3. Pendant of some sort (optional)
  4. Necklace clasp and clasp ring
  5. Cord end caps
  6. Feather(s)!

image

Step one is the cut the feather stem to an appropriate length. Basically, you ask yourself the question: “how long do I want my feather?” I chose to cut just above the fuzz of my African gray’s.

image

Voila!

image

Next, we need to get our cord end cap and line it up with our feather stem.

image

Squish it around the feather stem nice and tight. You don’t want the feather to fall out! Take note of which side of the feather you want to be the “front” and make sure the flaps of the cap are in the “back” of the feather.

image

Voila!

image

Now we need to stretch our pendant ring. It’s as simple as it sounds.

image

Add feather(s) and pendant and close the ring back up. Repeat the process for the chain clasp and chain ring…

image

Add your pendant and feather! Sorry for the horrible quality of this pic. I should have taken a pic on anything BUT a black sweater. My excuse is that it was cold and that’s the warmest sweater in the whole world. 😛

image

 

Leave a Reply

